LinkedIn

LinkedIn

LinkedIn (Photo credit: Christopher S. Penn)

I signed up with LinkedIn account this week and I had a chance to explore the options on the website. I had not used this service before and I didn’t know what to expect. The options are endless, and I do believe that with some time I would be able to say LinkedIn was useful for me; however, for the time being I can’t say that it was the best thing for personal branding.

Since this was my first time signing up, I didn’t have any connections, nor did I belong to any groups. My challenge was to complete this week’s assignment, since we had very specific requirements. One of the requirements was to join three groups with one hundred or more members, and to comment on each group throughout the week. However, due to my newly formed profile (I believe) I was not accepted to any of my selected groups but one, for which was too late to comment since my assignment deadline was too close.

The other difficulty was getting a recommendation. This was a difficult part of my assignment since some people didn’t even get notification (people didn’t read it) by the time of my class’s deadline. I was able to receive and post two recommendations in a few days, and I am happy about that.

The entire LinkedIn experience this week was stressful; not for the reason that many others stressed (hacking the users accounts), not that I’m not upset about that, but, for the reason that I didn’t have enough time to complete all requirements.

Overall, I think that LinkedIn can be a useful resource for professional growth. I can’t give a definite answer for now, since I’m just starting to develop my profile. I had a very positive experience with people I requested to connect with, as well as the  recommendations I’ve received so far. The final conclusion is yet to be determined.

Related articlesImage representing LinkedIn as depicted in Cru...

About delfazmis

I am a detail-oriented and results driven Financial Services professional with a reputation for outstanding organization skills, looking to move my career into Information Systems management. I currently have an A.S. in Business Administration, and am pursuing a B.S. degree in Information Systems Management. My background includes many years of experience in both the research and development of processing management. I also have expertise in utilizing Lean process methodology (http://www.lean.org/whatslean/), recommending process improvements, as well as analyzing and researching data. I hope to find a job in my new field soon, as I am currently in my senior year. I am very excited to transition my career into the IT field, combining my previous experience with newly learned knowledge.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

