On a sad note about technology!!!

Wireless Router

Wireless Router (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A few days ago I lost my Internet connection! In the middle of the week when I have to actively participate on one of the social websites daily, and a different website a few times weekly, for one of the two classes I’m taking this semester.  I also have to participate in a forum- type of discussion almost daily for my other class. Naturally, as you can imagine, I panicked.

I called my Internet provider immediately, and they promised to help and have someone walk me through the necessary steps to reactivate my wireless box over the phone without problem. Ok, so remember when I said that I lost connection a few days ago?  Well, I still don’t have it! Now, it turns out my wireless router has gone bad, and I was told as long as I get it replaced with another, I will be good to go.

So, I drove to the nearest service center the next day and explained my issue, only to be told that the router I have is not available for pick up at any location in the area. Now I will have to wait for a few days to get a technician to come to my house and set it up, since they didn’t have any available tech people to come the next day. Again, naturally, I’m upset. I’m getting closer to the weekend, I have to finalize my research for the presentation I have to give the next week on one a social media website, and I have to finish homework for my other class! It doesn’t feel good to depend on something outside of our reach. I’m helpless without an Internet connection!

Panera Bread

Panera Bread (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I spent several evenings at Panera Bread, doing my assignments until closing time. Interestingly enough, I never had given much thought to the people who are using their computers at public places.  Well actually I did, but in the context of judging, thinking that they can’t part with that thing for a few moments to get a bite to eat. The question is now; if they eat only for the sake of free Wi-Fi, and if they can part with their computer for any reason?  After this experience I will look at people using their computers at public places differently. I will see people with tight deadlines and a faulty wireless router trying to keep up!

About delfazmis

I am a detail-oriented and results driven Financial Services professional with a reputation for outstanding organization skills, looking to move my career into Information Systems management. I currently have an A.S. in Business Administration, and am pursuing a B.S. degree in Information Systems Management. My background includes many years of experience in both the research and development of processing management. I also have expertise in utilizing Lean process methodology (http://www.lean.org/whatslean/), recommending process improvements, as well as analyzing and researching data. I hope to find a job in my new field soon, as I am currently in my senior year. I am very excited to transition my career into the IT field, combining my previous experience with newly learned knowledge.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

