Career Croasroads…

Picture I made for my goals article

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A couple of years ago I found myself at a crossroad!  I’m sure I’m not the only one out there who could say that they didn’t like the direction their career was heading. I wanted to open a world of possibilities, and the one way of achieving that was to get additional education, with more specialized skills that have a broad application. I decided to get a degree in IT Management. Figuring out what I wanted, finding a school that fit my goals and schedule, staying late studying and taking the tests while working full-time, was believe it or not, the easy part! Now I face the transition phase and it’s intimidating! How to get there? How to make first step? I have some necessary skills and professional experience; however, I don’t have technical experience. The job market is very competitive, and basic requirements are not going to cut it. I realized I have to do more than just add additional education on the resume, and then start looking.  I’ve met with a career adviser and I would like to share her insights about my situation. Besides working on my resume and looking for a suitable position, she mentioned the power of networking. By making my goals public to people in my organization, my friends and family, and people I meet, I can increase my chances of a successful transition. So, that’s what I’m doing now, putting my goals and hope out where a broad audience can see and relate, be it personally, or professionally.

About delfazmis

I am a detail-oriented and results driven Financial Services professional with a reputation for outstanding organization skills, looking to move my career into Information Systems management. I currently have an A.S. in Business Administration, and am pursuing a B.S. degree in Information Systems Management. My background includes many years of experience in both the research and development of processing management. I also have expertise in utilizing Lean process methodology (http://www.lean.org/whatslean/), recommending process improvements, as well as analyzing and researching data. I hope to find a job in my new field soon, as I am currently in my senior year. I am very excited to transition my career into the IT field, combining my previous experience with newly learned knowledge.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

